AFCAT Exam Pattern

AFCAT Exam has three stages of selection.

Stage 1: AFCAT Online Test/ EKT Online Test (For Technical Post Aspirants)
Stage 2: AFSB (Air Force Selection Board) Testing
Stage 3: Medical Examination

Stage 1: AFCAT Online Test




NO. of Questions

Max Marks


1. General Awareness(25)

2.Verbal Ability in English(25)

3.Numerical Ability (18)

4.Reasoning & Military Aptitude Test(32)

120 Minutes



EKT (For Ground Duty Technical Branch only)

Mechanical, Computer Science and Electrical & Electronics

45 Minutes



AFCAT marking scheme is as follows;

1. Three marks will be awarded for every correct answer
2. One mark will be deducted for every wrong answer
3. No marks will be deducted for un-attempted questions.

Stage 2: AFSB (Air Force Selection Board) Testing

1. AFSB testing will have 2 stages.

AFSB Centres located at Dehradun, Varanasi, Gandhinagar, and Mysuru.


  • a. Officer Intelligence Rating Test.
  • b. Picture Perception and Discussion Test.


Stage 2 Testing requires at least 4-5 days.

  • a. Psychological Tests: These are the written psychological tests and are conducted by professional psychologists.
  • b. Group Tests: These tests involve mental and physical activities to examine the candidates on various physical and mental parameters.
  • c. Interview Round: In this round, the interviewing officer takes a personal round of interview for the candidate.
  • d. Computerized Pilot Selection System (CPSS) Test: This test is mandatory for only those candidates who have applied for the Flying Branch.

Stage 3: Medical Examination

Successful candidates will be called up for the Medical examination. The Indian Airforce has prescribed two centers for Medical Examination which are Institute of Aviation Medicine, Bengaluru and Air Force Central Medical Establishment (AFCME), Delhi.

A final merit list will be prepared by the Board, after the Medical Examination, and the selected candidates will be asked to join any of the training establishments.